Donald Duck (Kalle Anka)

So, I expect many may ask: Why should Donald Duck, or Kalle Anka as he is known in Sweden, be a part of the Totally Sweden blog? Does he bare any particular significance to the Swedish Culture?

Well….I am pleased to suprise you and announce – quack quack yes he does!

I have recently been informed by my girlfriend that in Sweden, on Christmas Eve (similar to our Christmas Day,) every year around half of the Swedish population tune in to watch the same episode of Donald Duck at 3PM.

I was also told that this is a Swedish tradition dating back to 1959. Apologies, and no disrespect, but in the past she has told several white lies to test how gullable I can be, so I had to check it out!

So, I looked it up and sure enough this time it was the truth. So there you go! Every Christmas Eve at 3pm, about half of the Swedish population sit down and watch the same episode of Donald Duck they have been watching for oveKalle Ankar 50 years!

I have taken the liberty  to embed part of the christmas episode so others can have a taste of the Swedish Christmas and our Swedish readers can enjoy and reminisce on last years festivities.

Enjoy, and please state your thoughts in the comment section.

6 Responses to “Donald Duck (Kalle Anka)”

  1. You weren’t being teased – we watched Kalle Anke on Julafton (Christmas Eve) last year! I have to admit I took some convincing that Swedish children get their presents from the Christmas goat who hurls them at the front door (http://bit.ly/9w8oH9)

    • stephenjohnson87 Says:

      Ha ha, I have just asked her and that is also apparently very true. I am going to do a post soon about midsummer’s eve when the Swedes dance around a midsummer pole like frogs.

      Only, next time I will check my grammar before posting. I didn’t think you would have read it so quickly!

  2. Well the midsummer pole is actually a symbol of a big penis. And we dance around it like frogs because…we celebrate fertillity. And people call us weird? Nooo…..

  3. I love Donald Duck but they never seem to put it on TV in England. Excited to read more of these UNUSUAL traditions.

    Do Swedish people leave Reindeers carrots for when they come down the chimney?

    Follow me on http://kim2211.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

